Truman Scholars 2013: LSU Students Win Two, N. Carolina and UT Austin Roll On

This year’s Truman Scholars have been announced, and LSU leads all public universities with two Truman awards in 2013. Only 62 awards were granted this year, out of more than 629 applicants, so winning even one award is a high achievement.

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill leads all public universities in the total number of Truman Scholarships. The University of Texas at Austin is next. Students from each of these institutions won a Truman scholarships in 2013.

The scholarship provides up to $30,000 to students pursuing graduate degrees, as well as leadership training, career and graduate school counseling, special internship opportunities and priority admission at many graduate institutions.

Well-known winners of the award include ABC’s George Stephanopoulos, Jeffrey Toobin of CNN and the New Yorker, Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano, and The New Republic senior editor Noam Scheiber.

Iowa, Maryland, Montana, Rutgers, and Vermont have each had a Truman scholar in both 2012 and 2013. The University of Washington had two Truman scholars in 2012.

Other public universities with Truman scholarship winners in 2013 are as follows: Auburn, Arkansas, Delaware, New College of Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Louisville, Southern Mississippi, Montana, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Angelo State, UC Berkeley, and Utah State.

Delaware, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, and Minnesota also have an especially notable history of winning Truman awards.