Marshall Scholars 2015: Eleven Public University Winners

Eleven of the 31 Marshall Scholars for 2015 are from public universities, the same number selected in 2014. The Marshall Scholarship is one of the most prestigious in the world, providing full funding for two years of study at major universities in the United Kingdom.  In general, public universities fare better with Marshall Scholarships than with Rhodes Scholarships, partly because one of the Rhodes interview regions almost always selects an extremely high percentage of Ivy students.

Not that the Marshall process is unfriendly to the Ivies: Yale students won 6 Marshall Scholarships for 2015, a truly outstanding achievement.

Marshall Scholars may receive awards valued at about $28,000 a year.  The scholarship is for one, two, or three years, depending on the scholar’s plans, research focus, and disciplines offered at UK universities.

At least six of the 11 winners from state universities are enrolled in honors colleges or programs, while at least one more is in a university that does not have an honors program (UC Berkeley) and another winner is at a school that just started an honors program in Fall 2014 (UT Brownsville).

Auburn (Honors College), the University of New Mexico (one from honors program), and UT Austin (Plan II) have had Marshall Scholars in both 2014 and 2015.

Here is the 2015 list, with the name of the UK university below the winner’s name:

Nicholas Adler— Villanova
University of Cambridge

Gavin Baird–Cal State University Fresno
London School of Economics and Political Science

Christopher Birmingham–Gonzaga
University of Bristol

Morgan Breene — University of Rhode Island (and an honors program student)
University of Southampton

Hope Bretcher –University of Chicago
University of Edinburgh

Jacob Calvert — University of Illinois
University of Bristol

Hayden Dahmm –Swarthmore
University of Cambridge

Dahlia D’Arge –University of Kentucky, an honors program student, and ROTC
University of Glasgow

Benjamin Daus-Haberle –Yale University
University of Oxford

Edmund Downie –Yale University
University of Oxford

Julia Ebert – Northeastern University
University of London, Imperial College

Michael George –Harvard College
London School of Economics and Political Science

Tess Grogan –Smith College
University of St. Andrews

Anna Hagen –Harvard College
University of Oxford

Ryan Henrici –Penn State, and a Schreyer Honors College student
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Felipe Hernandez–UC Irvine, and a CHP Honors Program student
University of Bristol

Jeffrey Holzgrafe –Olin College of Engineering
University of Cambridge

Andrea Howard – United States Naval Academy
King’s College London

Mark Jbeilly –UT Austin, and a Plan II Honors student
University of Oxford

Adam Jermyn –Caltech
University of Cambridge

Linda Kintsler –Bowdoin
University of Cambridge

Sarah Mohamed –UC Berkeley
University of Oxford

Sarah Norvell, Yale
University of Oxford

Ashton Richardson –Auburn, and a student in the honors college
University of Sheffield

Amanda Rizzolo –Yale
London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art (LAMDA)

Ryan Roco –Univ of New MexicoSchool of Oriental and African Studies, University of London

Rahul Singh –Yale
London School of Economics and Political Science

Tayler Ulmer –Spelman College
School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London

Spencer Wilson –MIT
University of Cambridge

Jacqueline Zavala –UT Brownsville
University of East Anglia